## WILLIAM W. JACK, JR.

## Attorney at Law Smith Haughey Rice & Roegge Grand Rapids, Muskegon, Traverse City, Ann Arbor, Holland

William W. Jack is a graduate of Denison University and George Washington University Law School. He started at Smith Haughey Rice & Roegge, P.C. in 1975 and specializes in Alternative Dispute Resolution. He is currently the Chief Executive Officer of the firm.

Bill is on the faculty of the National Institute for Trial Advocacy and has trained lawyers in advocacy skills for NITA Regional and National Programs, individual law firms in several states, and litigation counsel for a number of national insurance carriers. In addition, he serves on the faculty and steering committee of the Western District of Michigan Hillman Advocacy Program and is the recipient of the first annual Hillman Award in 2011. He has served on the adjunct faculty for MSU College of Law and Cooley Law School.

He is certified as a facilitative mediator by the United State District Court for the Western District of Michigan and a number of state Circuit Courts and has mediated several hundred matters.

Bill is past president of the Western Michigan Chapter of the Federal Bar Association; former president of the Michigan Defense Trial Counsel; past President of the Grand Rapids Chapter of the American Inns of Court; and past President of the Grand Rapids Bar Association.

He is the recipient of the Michigan Defense Trial Counsel 2002 Excellence in Defense Award and the 2009 Michigan Association of Justice Respected Advocate Award.

Bill is a Fellow of the Michigan State Bar Foundation, a Fellow of the American Bar Foundation and a member of the American Board of Trial Advocates. Bill is listed in *The Best Lawyers in America* in Mediation, Legal Malpractice, Medical Malpractice and Personal Injury Litigation and was named Best Lawyers' 2012 Grand Rapids Legal Malpractice Law – Defendants Lawyer of the Year; 2013 Grand Rapids Personal Injury Litigation – Defendants Lawyer of the Year; and 2014 Grand Rapids Mediation – Lawyer of the Year.

He is the author of four novels: *Journey's End*, *The Dead End of Dying*, *An Untimely Reversal*, and *Reaching Past Goodbye*.